Impatient raging.

So, there are specific days that jump out at me every now and then where emotions seem uncontrolable. Days where the only refuge is found in a blank canvas, paint and brushes.  Well, today is one of those days and escaping to my place of solice is just out of reach.  I have returned to Austin, TX (home) after being on the road for an extended time and I won’t have a space for 3 more weeks.  I could feel everything building from the moment my eyes opened and my head lifted from my pillow, I tried to fight it and distance myself from the impatient rage building inside.  After 36 years I should realize that I can’t hide from who I am or how I was created.  So I went to find a quiet place to write, listen and be.  At least until I can calm down, relax and exit a few tears and thoughts.

Makoto Fujimura

Here is the music that is filling or drowning out every other sound around me into oblivion:

Active Child: You Are All I See, Curtis Lane

James Vincent McMorrow: Early In The Morning

Nathaniel Ratliff: In Memory of Loss

Wise Children: Absince & Reunion

Ugly Casanova: 180 South Soundtrack

Timber Timbre: Creep on Creepin’ On

City and Colour: Little Hell

Sbtrkt: SBTRKT

The Jezabels: Dark Storm, She’s So Hard, The Man Is Dead

3 thoughts on “Impatient raging.

  1. I admire your honesty to express your thoughts and wisdom enough to release them from the depths of your heart. You have not been given a spirit of anger but His power, love and a supernatural gift to give to the needy. Remember God can not take away what we choose to hold on to, so today release it in your
    Art. 1john 5:14-15

  2. hhhmm well said and congratulations on converting impatient rage into art–nothing like a little poignant angst to fuel the brush and pen strokes. I also find that coming home after an extended time on the road can be a highly charged time for identity review–old friends and family not quite up to speed with the new facets of us often apply subtle pressure to comply with their outdated ideas of who/what we are/should be. And then of course there are the ones we left at the cross roads along the way….

Leave a Reply

